Convention 2019

FAAA Announces the Chief Guest for its 18th Annual Meeting in Atlanta


Dear Fellow Aligs and Friends,

On behalf of the organizing committee, I am delighted to announce that the 18th Annual Convention of Federation of Aligarh Alumni Associations (FAAA) will be held in Atlanta, GA from July 26 to July 28, 2019. It will be hosted at the DoubleTree Hotel by Hilton 1075 Holcomb Bridge Road, Roswell, GA 30076. The organizing committee has negotiated special convention rates for the rooms: $89/per night plus tax for 2 full-size bed or a king-size bed with sleeper sofa. This rate is valid only for two nights starting Friday, July 26. It includes a complimentary hot breakfast for two per room. The parking is free. Below is the information for room reservation:

Online reservation:
Phone reservation: 1-800-222-8733, Group Code – AMU

The room reservation cutoff date is July 10, 2019. So, please reserve early to receive the special rate. Additional room charges may apply if there are more than two occupants. If you plan to stay an additional night, please contact us.

The hotel is located 30 miles North from the airport and 6 miles from MARTA’s North Springs train station. There is a north-bound RED line MARTA train from inside airport to North Springs station. The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle service from North Springs Kiss-Ride area. For more information, the hotel front desk contact is (770) 992-9600. Please be advised that the Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta airport has a subway train from the terminal to the baggage claim/arrival lobby. Atlanta has only one arrival lobby.

For planning purpose, below is the preliminary program schedule of the convention:

Friday, July 26 – 5:30 PM to 7:00 PM: Registration
Friday, July 26 – 7:00 PM to 11:00 PM: Dinner and Adabi/Talent Session
Saturday, July 27 – 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM: Opening, Reports, Projects, Panel Discussion, Lunch, Technical Presentations/Workshops, FAAA Elections
Saturday, July 27 – 7:00 PM to 12:00 Midnight: Installation, Chief Guest Address, Awards, Banquet Dinner, Entertainment
Sunday, July 28 – 8:30 AM to 11:30 AM: Closing Session

We are trying to work on the airport pickup and are also determining possibility of a downtown Atlanta driving tour after closing session on Sunday. More information will be available later.

The annual convention is unique time to learn Federation’s activities, programs and projects, to take part in discussions and initiatives, to pass baton to new leadership, to reunite with fellow Aligs, and to also have a good time. In this convention, we are planning to hold a special session for young and new attendees. We are also working on to select a meaningful and productive conference theme. A detailed program agenda will be posted on the website as we approach the conference date.

The convention registration form is available at the federation’s website Please register by July 10 to receive discounted rates.

We eagerly look forward to welcoming you and your family to the convention. Atlanta is also a great place to visit with attractions like CNN, Olympic Park, Coca Cola, Aquarium, Georgia Tech, ML King memorial, etc. The FAAA convention is coming back to Atlanta after 13 years. The local Aligarh association is very excited to hosting this event and is working diligently in all the preparations. Kindly spread the word and pass on convention info to your association members and to all interested. Please feel free to contact me at if you have any questions or suggestions.

Rasheed Ahmad, Ph.D., P.E.

Date: July 26 – July 28, 2019

18th Annual Convention Atlanta, Georgia, July 26-28, 2019 at DoubleTree by Hilton.
Click Here for Details

Registration Form